All Year Long

Many years ago, I came across a blog that was not like anything I would ever read and that I could not stop reading.  It was written by a Christian homeschooling mom in Texas and it was about her children and her home.  At the time I couldn’t have been more different from this blogger.  I was in my early 20’s, working part time, going to college, living at home, engaged, discovering the joys of drinking, and Pagan.

But I read the blog.  I read every past entry.  I eagerly awaited new ones.  When I was caught up, I tried to fill the hole that it left in my work day, as I often read when I was trapped behind a desk with nothing else to do or when I needed to step back from my customer service self.  I never found anything like it again.  There are probably millions of parenting and homeschooling blogs but they all seemed so curriculum based or preachy.  I wanted a glimpse into someone else’s life and I wanted to think, just for a little bit, about how different things could be.

The blog ended up having a huge effect on me for a while.  While I was reading it, I had my famous Crafty Christmas.  I made all of the gifts and tags and ornaments on my tree and even my first ever pie.  I threw myself into the seasons in a way that I should have been anyway.  I read Simple Abundance for the first time.  I began to think of myself as a woman, as someone who would be done with school soon and who would be getting married and who would have a house and who would build a career.  The things that I took from this blog were as much a part of the life I wanted as work and writing and feminism and love.

Fast forward to now.

I am 32.  I am married to a completely different man, the love of my life.  I am pregnant with our first child.  I have a master’s degree and a career.  I write.  I have four cats.  I own my own home.  I am rediscovering Paganism.  I have read Simple Abundance two more time and am probably about to read it again.  I’ve read other books that have given me dangerous ideas.  I can trace a lot of ideas back to that blog that was nothing like anything I would read.

Here we are.

What is this?  I’m not quite sure yet.  Starting now, starting today, I want to focus on building the kind of life that I want and I want to document it every single day.  I’m not sure what that means yet and I imagine that I will make it up as I go along.  My goal is to blog here every day for one year, even if it is just a short entry, and tell you what I’m doing and what I’m thinking and how things are working out.  This is going to be a year of great changes and I want to see where it takes me and who I become.

I hope that you will join me on this journey but I am also fine with screaming into the void.

Lovies,
Rachael

Leave a Reply

