The Joy of Tinkering

Thursdays are my late days at work.  Instead of the usual 9-5, I work 1-9.  Mostly I don’t mind the late shift because I get to sleep in and spend some time alone in the house and then it’s usually quiet for at least the last hour or two at work.  I spend most of the day “on-desk,” as us librarians say, and sometimes that means I get to work on big projects in my department that I can’t work on at my off desk.  I generally like my coworkers and I enjoy being able to stop and chat with people I only see on Thursday nights.  I also, honestly, enjoy being the supervisor on staff for the night.  #girlboss

I’ve been scheduling my doctor appointments for Thursday mornings, so that I don’t have to miss a bunch of work, and I’ve been really missing my time around the house.  Sometimes I make big plans for the morning.  Sometimes I just read.  Something I LOVE to do is break up my morning routine with some little task, like picking up 5 things or reading a number of pages or a chapter or a poem.  I love the feeling of getting things done while I’m getting things done.

Every year I have a Halloween party the weekend after Halloween.  So today’s big goals had to do with getting the house in order.  I’ve been pretty tired with this pregnancy so I haven’t been the best at keeping up with housework.  At this point, though, the whole house has been cleaned within the past two weeks and all I’ll do before the party is clean the bathroom, kitchen, and the basement, where the fun will be had.  I’ll also do a quick sweep and a quick pick-up Saturday afternoon.

I enjoyed my morning around the house.  I loved my coffee in my favorite teacup.  It was great seeing the bottom of my sink again.  I threw out tons of old papers.  I started on the basement, which is much worse than I thought.  I did a quick little project that I had been meaning to get to for, oh, 7 or 8 months.  By the time I needed to start getting ready for work, I didn’t want to go.  I wanted to stay home, maybe grab a nap and then work on more stuff.  It felt so good to be just tinkering around the house, picking up and listening to podcasts and not hurrying or worrying.

When I started my new job last December, I had to adjust to a new schedule that didn’t allow me an extra hour in the mornings or lunch breaks at home to tinker.  I still haven’t quite gotten it down.  I miss that tinkering time and I love having in on my late mornings.  I love it so much that I wasn’t even disappointed when I woke up before my alarm instead of sleeping in!  (But now, oh now how I wish I had slept in because I am beat.)

I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t a little itty bitty bit bitter about it throughout the day.  I would have loved to stay home and tinker and nap and just be myself and hang around the cats.  But I’ve worked hard and I’ve managed problems and I have ridden the roller-coaster of the day and survived.

My rewards for trying to stay in a good mood and work hard:  Hubby went to the grocery store for me.  (He was rewarded by finding Ecto Cooler finally.)  AND, a little girl who told me all about how much she loves Star Wars and Star Trek as she hugged comics to her chest.

Try, try, try.  I can’t wait until I can tinker again.

Leave a Reply

