A Sick Day

Today I called in sick for the first time since I started my job 11 months ago.  This is a record for me but a number of factors went into it.  I don’t actually have sick time yet, only vacation.  I have been saving my time off up for my future maternity leave.  I’ve managed to actually not be sick this year.  Also, I was super lucky during my first trimester and, while I was nauseous and tired most of the time, I managed to power through.

But this week, Hubby and I are fighting bugs.  Mine started Monday afternoon.  Something with my stomach.  I get nauseous in waves and dizzy and I’m tired.  I powered through most of the week but today I had an ultrasound at 8:30 and was supposed to work until 9 and I just knew that I would feel even worse afterward.

Of course, I haven’t been easy on myself because I haven’t learned.

After the ultrasound, we did some running with my mother, grabbed lunch, and stopped at Walmart for medications, a humidifier, and a new phone for Hubby.  We didn’t get home until 2!  Then I napped for a bit at least.  I am trying to make myself take it easy tonight but my natural setting is “Go!  Go!  Go!”

It’s been a long time since I had a sick day and I wish that I would have spent it laying on the couch, binge watching the X-Files or something.  It will be a long time before I have the opportunity again.

Even though I don’t feel well, I am happy to say that The Thing, or Ian, is actually a baby!  He looks like a baby now instead of demon spawn, as Hubby likes to joke.  I’m always so relieved to see him in there.  He was laying on his back so we couldn’t get a good shot of his spine but everything looks nice and normal.  He actually looks really chill.  I imagine it’s the many hours spent with purring cats laying on him.

Tomorrow I am back on it and back to the real world.  I can handle it and hopefully I’m feeling better and ready to take on the world.

 

Leave a Reply

