Sunday

I used to spend Sundays taking care of things around the house.  I did the laundry and cleaned the whole house so that the rest of the week I could spend just relaxing when I got home from work.  On weekdays, I would make a point to spend about fifteen minutes picking up whatever messes we made and I finished up the kitchen while I waited for my nighttime tea to steep.  It really did make life a lot easier.

So why did I stop?

Oh, you know, a number of reasons.  We started playing D&D some Sundays and it took up most of my day.  When we weren’t playing, I got into the habit of camping out on the couch and binge watching TV, stopping only to play a board game in the afternoon.  When I got pregnant, I really needed that down time.  I was so tired that I needed one day to recharge my batteries.  Nevermind that doing so put me at a disadvantage all week long.

Today I intend to resurrect that practice.  I may not get it all down but I will at least work on it.  My plan today? Write, to-do list, laundry.  My number one goal is to catch up on my NaNoWriMo word count because I know that it will make the rest of the week easier.  My second priority is the laundry, mostly because I know that I can get it done and put away today without a problem.  Finally, the to-do list.  This is where things get tricky.  I’m doing my regular daily to dos and then my cleaning to dos.  In between everything I do today I am writing a page, trying to get those words up.

I feel good about this plan and I hope that I get a lot done.  I also hope that I manage to stay chipper AND inspired all day!  My writing is so much improved from last year that I can’t help but be excited about it.  Who knows what I’ll produce next.  I’m really enjoying this exercise of showing up for the writing and pushing myself but also letting the story pull me along.

I hope you have a great Sunday, whether your spending it relaxing or working.  You can be productive even on a day of rest.

Leave a Reply

