On My Hogwarts House

I always thought that I would be Ravenclaw.  For a few years now I’ve been saying that my motto in life is “Truth, Love, and Books, no necessarily in that order.”  I’ve built a world around books and learning.  I live in a castle of books.  I’m a librarian.  Trivial Pursuit is my favorite game.

Before Pottermore changed, I took the original wand and sorting test.  I got 8 inch hawthorn with unicorn hair for my wand, which is perfect because 8 is my favorite number, hawthorn is my favorite tree, and I love unicorns.  I was excited to take my sorting test.  And I took it.

And I got Slytherin.

I was disgusted at first and I kind of slammed my laptop shut and didn’t go back to Pottermore for a looong time.  But since then, I’ve come to accept it.  I don’t think that I primarily of Slytherin and from what I understand the original Pottermore sorting test tried to keep the houses even and sometimes shuffled people to their second house to keep those numbers down.  I don’t care, though.  I’ve accepted it.  And I know these things about myself that make me a little Slytheriny.

  1. I can do it my damn self.  I get a little Luscius Malfoy sometimes, when he gets mad at someone for being incompetent and just does it his damn self.  I can do it myself.  I will fix it.  I will clean it.  I will accomplish it.  And I won’t ask you for help and if you do help I’ll act put out.  It’s not that I don’t need your help or want it, it’s that I must always be strong.
  2. I want what I want.
  3. Sometimes I manipulate people and things to get what I want.  It’s shameful, I know, and I always feel bad afterwards, but I will wiggle things around until it works.
  4. I long for success.  I mean, I have success.  I am successful.  But part of that is my ambition to look flawless on the outside.  I don’t know.  Maybe it’s more Slytherin to BELIEVE you are flawless.

And, honestly, the Slytherins I’ve met have all been super different people.  It’s that kind of house.  We’re all nasty but in our own ways.

What is your house?  Do you think it fits?

Leave a Reply

