I miss reading.

I’m a big reader.  I am.  I always have been.  This year I have managed to make my way through 127 books.  This is an extraordinary year.  I usually aim for 100.  Sometimes I make it, just barely, and sometimes I don’t.  There have been a lot of short books this year and a lot of graphic novels, which I know helped the number, but I am damn impressed anyway.

So, how can I say that I miss reading?

Well, basically because I am not reading.  I have a pile of books that I want to read and pile of books that I have to read.  I have four books to get through for work and I wanted to be done with them by the new year.  But I just can’t.  I don’t want to read them and the way that I am handling that is by not reading at all.

On Thursdays, Hubby goes to his brother’s house to play games and usually stays until I am in bed.  I get home late but one of the things that I like to do when I get home and have some time to myself is read.  December is particularly great for this.  The Christmas tree is lit and I can put a fireplace on the television and curl up on the couch with a book and some tea and a blanket.  It’s cozy and wonderful and the cats like it too.  I can tell myself that I will do this when I get home but I can tell you right now that I probably won’t.

Why not?  Well, I’m tired.  It’s been a long day.  My eyes hurt.  I want to go to sleep.  I got up this morning, got ready, did all of my stuff around the house, drove an hour to my doctor’s appointment, was surprised by a blood test, dropped Hubby off 20 minutes away, drove back toward home about 25 minutes, had lunch with Mom, and then went to work.  That’s a lot and I need to make a stop on the way home that I don’t want to make.

And the truth is that even if I have time to read tonight at work, I probably won’t.  My brain just isn’t in it.  Maybe an audiobook while I lay in bed later.  That would at least be something.

Leave a Reply

