Tuesday Bumps

I was a little snippy before I went to bed last night.  I was just tired and hadn’t slept well the night before and had the suspicion that I wasn’t going to sleep well again and just wanted to get to bed and get on with it.  I was snippy, Hubby didn’t seem to notice or care, and I told myself that today I would start again.   Always start again.  I went to bed, wasn’t tired, read, almost fell asleep, and then the power went out.  I tried to get the electrical website up to report the outage and their page was down.  I tried to call and my number wasn’t associated with an account.  The power came back on 15 minutes after it went out and I went back to bed.  I got up to pee TWICE before I dozed off and then Hubby came to bed and I got up and peed again because that’s just what I do now.

I woke up at 5 and told myself that it was going to be a good day and went back to sleep.

I woke up to Hubby’s alarm because I forgot to set mine after turning it off for the holiday.  I slept in, not a lot but enough to make me feel a little rushed.  The power going off messed up the drier, putting me behind on laundry.  The cats were being jerks.  The house was a mess.  I was so keyed up that I couldn’t meditate.  I kept catching myself thinking about how much I had to do and how I told Hubby that we could play games all week and how those things don’t GO TOGETHER.  I tripped over a box.  Most of me wearable clothes were wet.  I was wigging out.

But I kept stopping myself and taking deep breaths and trying to get a grip on my stress.

Sometimes, that’s all that you can do.

I’m at work and I am happy to be here.  There are a lot of things that I want to work on this week while it’s slow and I’m alone in my department.  It won’t be a bad week at all.  Four work days and then a five day break, which I really need.  I don’t have to do it all.  I can relax and take my time, knowing that that time is coming.  But I DO wish that I could be home today, that I could be putting things in order and taking a nap and snuggling some cats.  And that’s okay.  In the meantime, I’m here and if I focus on the work at hand the day will fly by and I’ll be home in no time.

I hope your holidays were merry and bright.

Leave a Reply

