The Big Three: Clear Mind

As you may have gathered from my original post about the big three, I tend to let my mind wander and chase flights of fancy.  I like to let my mind just go and see where it takes me.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t see the positive side to having a clear mind.  And I don’t always think that these are the things that gunk up our minds.

  • Practice mindfulness
  • Put the phone down
  • Try to do one thing at a time
  • Focus on the positive
  • Let go of the negative

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about this because I wasn’t sure what I would consider a clear mind and what would help me achieve it.  I’ve played with a lot of these things before, though, and it was time to admit that I needed to stick to them.

Mindfulness and doing one thing at a time go hand in hand but are completely different things.  When I try to be in the present, I find it easier to focus and I feel less anxiety.  I even end up feeling energized.  Doing one thing at a time helps me to stay mindful and also helps me focus.

I know that I have a phone problem.  It’s gotten really bad.  I love my phone and I love my phone games and I’m not talking about giving them up.  What I AM talking about is not aimlessly scrolling through my Facebook because I’m bored or tired.  I bet we all do this, pull up FB and scroll until our eyes are glazed and we’re drooling.  Less time on my phone, more time in the world or in a book.

Finally, my last two go together too.  You can’t ignore the negative, but you can acknowledge it and let it go, just like those pesky thoughts that pop up while meditating.  I find myself bogged down with negative self talk and useless worries a lot.  I don’t want that junk in my life!  When things are tough, I want to focus on the positive kernel that has to be in there somewhere.  There’s always a silver lining.

Brains are important, you guys.  I use mine a lot.  I just want to keep that machine a little better oiled.

Leave a Reply

