Random Thoughts on Food

I’ve found myself thinking a lot about food today, and not in the usual way.  You know, not what I want to eat or where I want to eat.  More like this…

There are, in my opinion, two types of dining out.  There is the kind that I do most often, the kind where you might ask for something special to make the meal better, a side of mayo or for something to be left off your sandwich.  Then there is the kind of dining that we do once in a while where you just kind of trust the chef and feel like it would be an insult if you asked for something different.  I like both and I’m comfortable with both.  Sometimes eating things like they were meant to be eaten will open a whole new world.

This morning I ate leftovers for breakfast and waited hours to eat again.  I just haven’t been as hungry.  Hubby suggested soup and I surprisingly did not have any in the house.  When I was at my previous job, I was lucky enough to come home for lunch three days a week and I always had soup.  So, I went and bought a can of soup and I opened it and instantly regretted my decision.  It’s kind of gross.  All canned soup is.  It’s amazing how that changed over a year.

Pregnancy changes all kinds of things about food.  It tastes different and I want different things.  I used to eat two jars of pickles in a week and I don’t want anything to do with them now.  It’s kind of strange.  I hope that I go back to normal.

Leave a Reply

