I’m No Superman

One of the things about pregnancy that I have the hardest time with is realizing that I cannot do all of the things that I would normally do.  I have to be a little more gentle with myself.  I cannot lift heavy things.  I cannot get off the floor as easily.  I cannot move as quickly.  I cannot count on a good night’s sleep.

Last night when I got home from my trip with my mom, I was exhausted.  We hadn’t done much shopping.  I hadn’t done much walking.  But I was tired.  I took a nap and woke up feeling sluggish and out of sorts.  I told myself that I would finish cleaning the house but when I started working on the kitchen, simply picking up the random rubbish and wiping down the counters, I had to sit down.  Five minutes later I got up and cleaned out the fridge then I had to sit down again.  And so it went until Hubby got home and I gave up and sat on the couch like a lump until I was hungry enough to make dinner, a simple dinner that usually takes 10 minutes but took 30 last night.

I don’t always feel like that.  In fact, it’s rare for me to feel like that.

When I got up this morning I had pep in my step and I got going right away.  I worked out, got ready for work, picked up the house, finished cleaning, and even started taking the tree down.  I threw some bottles in my trunk and told myself that I would return them on my way home tonight.  It was only then that I realized I probably would not feel like doing that.  It’s a long day for me.  I did a lot before I left the house plus I had a doctor’s appointment and I work until 9.  AND I didn’t sleep well last night.  I only got about 5.5 hours of sleep.  My program wasn’t ready to go at work and I had to move a bunch of tables, too.

Now it’s almost the end of my shift and my energy held out pretty well.  At 7:40 I was amazed that I still felt good.  10 minutes later I was nearly dead.  But now I HAVE to go to the store because we’re out of toilet paper.

I can’t do everything.  I am going to have to learn that and I am going to have to start delegating.

Leave a Reply

