Define Normal

What is normal for me is not normal for you.  And I’m fine with that.

One of the things I’ve learned from being pregnant is that everybody is different.  A dear friend of mine who is also pregnant told me last week, “I just assume that everything is normal because everyone is different.”  True.  Some people have morning sickness, some people don’t.  Some people are tired, some people aren’t.  Some people need to take it easy, other people need to be out in the rice paddies until they go into labor.

Some women stay home after having babies.  Some women go back to work part time.  Some women go back to work full time.

Some women breast feed.  Some women don’t.

Just because some people think something is right doesn’t mean that it is right for everybody.

I have never been the kind of person to do things the “normal” way.  Really what I mean by that is “the way people tell me it should be done.”  This has been interesting with the pregnancy and the oncoming motherhood.  I don’t want to breastfeed and if I do I want it to be for a very short period so that Ian can be weened by the time I go back to work.  I don’t want a c-section, something that so many women my age have told me was “great” because they “could just schedule everything and it was done in no time.”  I don’t know that I want an epidural.  (I’m lax on that one because I have no idea if I can actually handle it.)

Other things:  I fully intend to continue reading because it is a part of my job and it is a part of me.  I will go back to work full time, because I have a career.  I am not going to buy a new car.  (This has been a big one.  Mustang.  Whatever.  It’s fine.)  I’m not going to co-sleep, especially because I have a damn waterbed and I’m not getting rid of it because I am having a baby.  I am keeping my cats, all four of them.

Everybody seems amazed by my ideas and I’m not promising that they are all going to work out very well but I can change things as I go because I adapt.  Now, please stop asking me if I’m getting a new car.  Okay?

Leave a Reply

