On Reading

I try not to talk about reading too much here because I have a separate book blog where I review books and, well, write about reading.  But today I wanted to talk about it because I have been thinking so much about it lately.

First, I want to confess that I am a cheater.  I cheat the system at work.  I’ve cheated the system for years and across two libraries.  I have broken the system so that sometimes I keep books for months.  This is why it is so important to me that I finish all of my library books before maternity leave.  I don’t want to cheat the system anymore.  When I go back to work, I want a fresh, clean slate and I don’t want to bog myself down with too many books.

Does this mean getting rid of my TBR stack?  I’m not sure yet.  The idea of not having a stack of books to read kind of terrifies me.

Previously, I had a system.  If I’m being honest with myself, my system was broken and it was broken because I have a hard time with self control and books.  I want to read everything and I want to read it now and how can I make it all work?  Also, whenever I am faced with something new, like childbirth or parenting maybe, my first impulse is to read a book about it without realizing that I actually can’t read more books.

But can’t I?  This is what got me on the topic today.  I like to have something to focus on while I eat.  Oh, I know all of the studies about how you eat more and blah blah blah but I don’t really care.  Usually I just toss something on the TV if Hubby isn’t watching something.  An episode of Friends it just enough for dinner.  But today Hubby had a video loaded up to watch and I didn’t want to lose it so I picked up my phone and loaded my Hulu app and found something that sounded interesting and started it and… realized that there was a better way.  I closed it up and opened my Kindle app.

I am a big fan of the Kindle, even if I don’t read exclusively on it.  I use my Paperwhite to read in bed at night so that I don’t have to fool with lights, which is also helpful when I can’t sleep in the middle of the night and don’t want to wake Hubby up with a light.  Another great thing about the Kindle is that I can use the app to read on my phone and it only takes a finger to turn the page.  That means it is great for reading while you eat.  I sat on the couch with my breakfast this morning and balanced my phone on my knee so I could read while I ate.  And it was great.

So, there’s a little way to fit in more reading.  I can do it anywhere if I remind myself.  Doctor’s offices, where I spend a lot of time at present, and lines and while I’m waiting for my food at a restaurant and Hubby is playing on his phone.

I just have to remind myself to do it.

Leave a Reply

