Taking Care of Myself, part 2

I called in today.  This is only the second time that I have called in since I started my job over a year ago.  I have been very particular about not using any of my time off since I found out I was pregnant because I’m going to need that money.

But today I gave in.

Remember how I was talking about taking care of myself?  I felt pretty rotten yesterday and then I only slept about 4.5 hours last night.  I woke up at 4 AM and never went back to sleep.  When I gave up and got up at 5:30 I was cranky and my head felt like it was full of bees and I was so tired.  The honest truth was that I wasn’t going to get anything done today and I had a doctor’s appointment first thing so I called in and promised myself a self care day.

How am I caring for myself today?  First, I am taking my time.  Second, I am reading.  Third, I am trying to focus on one thing at a time.  Fourth, I went to the store and got actual real food to eat.  Fifth, and most importantly, I am just trying to be kind to myself.  I have done exceptionally well, imho.  I haven’t asked for anything special.  But today I think it’s important to get the rest that I need.

Leave a Reply

