Messy Manic Mondays

I am running low on sleep again.  Saturday night after the going away party, I only slept 5 hours.  I tried to take a nap yesterday afternoon but couldn’t fall asleep.  Last night I slept about 4.5 hours.  Hubby had a hard time sleeping too.  While I was laying with my eyes closed tight, telling myself again and again that I was falling asleep, Hubby got up and went out to the living room.

“Are you giving up?” I asked.

Now, today, that seems like a stupid thing to ask.  This isn’t some contest with sleep.  Sleep and I are not enemies.  We’re usually friends.  Right now we are just going through a rough patch.  The rough patch is not helped by the fact that I think I need a new heater for the bed and it’s been kind of cold.  I have to remember to check that when I get home…

I am doing my best today, though.  I got up and worked out and got ready.  I got some stuff done around the house before I left.  I came to work and I have gotten through quite a bit.  Am I tired?  Yes.  Did I not feel well earlier?  Also, yes.  But I get to leave a half hour early today and I get to go home and rest and just take care of myself and that is something I can really get behind right now.

Tonight I will go to bed at a reasonable time and I will do my best to just let go and sleep, to not worry about whether or not I get enough.  It will be fine.  Eventually I will feel normal again.

Leave a Reply

