Slow Down, You Move Too Fast

Today has been a strange day.  I don’t know where it went.  I did get in an hour nap and Mom came to visit for an hour and brought me some lunch.  Other than that, though, I don’t feel like I’ve done anything.  I picked up the house.  I marinaded some chicken that I just put into the oven.  I pumped and fed and changed diapers.  But the day has slipped away.

When I woke up from my nap, I started to feel the pressure closing in on me.  I have so much that I wanted to do this week and I have done so very little of it.  The house hasn’t been cleaned and the laundry hasn’t been washed.  I have a billion things on my to do list and the day is sliding away so that there is nothing to be done about it.  I had good intentions.  I was going to do stuff and read.  But now I cannot even think about reading.  My brain hurts just thinking about all of the stuff I want to do.

Times like these, I have to remind myself that I am doing all that I can and sometimes that is more and sometimes it is less.  I have to slow down and do one thing at a time, put my phone down and only check it every half hour or so.  I forget that just because I am home doesn’t mean that my day isn’t take up with the care of the baby.  Sometimes it is and that’s alright because that is what I am here for.

Whatever it is that you are stressed about, take a deep breath and forgive yourself.  That’s what I am trying to do.

Leave a Reply

