Dipping My Toes into Capsule Wardrobes

Since reading Soulful Simplicity by Courtney Carver last week, I’ve been thinking a lot about capsule wardrobes.  The idea excites me.  It’s excited me for years.  But as I continue to get rid of one thing a day I’ve been noticing how little I actually wear that I own.

I have half a closet and 14 drawers and they are, for the most part, packed.  I have four shirt drawers (tank tops, band t’s, plan t’s, and blouses) PLUS sweaters (one drawer of sweaters, two overflowing shelves of cardigans).  In the summer I wear summer reading t-shirts to work two days a week.  I only need to dress for three days of work and on the weekends I wear jeans and band t’s.  I’ve pretty much relied on two pair of sandals all summer, one black and one brown.

So.  Why not try it?

The other day I wrote out what I felt would be a workable fall wardrobe.  I didn’t include cardigans because I love my cardigans and wear all of them a lot in the colder months.  Today I took that list and worked off of it to create a capsule wardrobe just for the month of August, or rather what’s left of it.  What I came up with was 27 items including cardigans.  That’s damn good.  AND a couple of those spaces are empty.  Like, I can’t think of a third blouse I want for the month and I can’t think of a third pair of shoes.

Here’s what I would like to do:  Go home, pull out all of the stuff on my list, and hang it in my half of the closet.  Take anything misplaced by this and put it in a box or stash it in my nearly empty sweater drawer.  Live out of that closet for three weeks.

I’m going to try.  Things are always a little iffy with Little Dude around…

Leave a comment